Moving in one axis limits the range of others

If you have questions or comments concerning any non-support related 3Dconnexion topic, please use this forum.

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
Crowley
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Oct 29, 2019 9:18 am

Moving in one axis limits the range of others

Post by Crowley » Tue Oct 29, 2019 10:16 am

I can't seem to move the device in multiple axes to their max position,
For example when i tilt it all the way to one side i can't rotate it all the way, and if i try it will tilt back.
Same case for combining panning and tilting, and it seems like a hardware limitation.

1: Are there any workarounds to this?

2: Is there the same limitation on every 3Dconnexion device? (I'm using SpaceMouse wireless)

UtaSH
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3289
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 10:34 am
Location: Munich, Germany
Contact:

Re: Moving in one axis limits the range of others

Post by UtaSH » Tue Oct 29, 2019 1:24 pm

Hi Crowley,

this sounds as if you might have the Dominant mode active. Open the driver settings and go to the Advanced Settings. There you can find on the left side a possibility to disable the Dominant mode if it is active by accident.

Let me know if this is the problem or if you need further assistance.

Crowley
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Oct 29, 2019 9:18 am

Re: Moving in one axis limits the range of others

Post by Crowley » Tue Oct 29, 2019 2:36 pm

Hello Uta,
Thank you for your response.

I checked and Dominant mode is off.
To clarify i do get simultaneous outputs from different axes, i just can't move the device to it's maximum position in more than one axis.
i.e when i rotate both around the Z and X axes they average at around %75 and when forcing one to %100 the other gets lower.
I'm still not sure if this is just the way the hardware was built or a software issue.

This is my first time using this device. My assumption was that i get the full range of outputs in all 6 degrees of freedom simultaneously without one
Effecting the other. Am i missing something?

jwick
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2565
Joined: Wed Dec 20, 2006 2:25 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: Moving in one axis limits the range of others

Post by jwick » Wed Oct 30, 2019 4:12 am

This is a hardware limitation. See this post

Post Reply