Vectorworks Commands and Tools Icons

Questions and answers about 3Dconnexion devices on Windows.

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
zoomer
Posts: 62
Joined: Sat Aug 20, 2016 8:53 am

Vectorworks Commands and Tools Icons

Post by zoomer » Mon Dec 03, 2018 8:35 am

I try to switch from Mac to Windows.
Now I miss the special VW Tools and Commands in my driver Settings.
There are only a dozen of Text-only Commands in a Vectorworks drop down.

Not sure but I think I installed the Driver days before VW.
And I have chosen installation options and deactivated all plugins for all
Software that I don't use.
I re-checked driver repairing options but there isn't any VW Plugin I had
accidentally deactivated or could choose.

Is there an option too manually add these commands and are these provided
by 3DConnexion or by VW ?

zoomer
Posts: 62
Joined: Sat Aug 20, 2016 8:53 am

Re: Vectorworks Commands and Tools Icons - SOLVED

Post by zoomer » Thu Dec 06, 2018 7:23 am

Re-installing Driver with > New Installation Option did not work.

But the Driver "Repair" Option, keeping all previous Settings helped
and brought Vectoworks Custom Commands back.

zoomer
Posts: 62
Joined: Sat Aug 20, 2016 8:53 am

Re: Vectorworks Commands and Tools Icons - NOT SOLVED

Post by zoomer » Sat Dec 08, 2018 7:47 am

The Commands are back.
But don't show Icons in Driver Setup, like e.g. Bricscad does.

Also,
if I try to assign such a (text only) Command from the Vectorworks List,
even that text will quickly disappear from the button assignment field
and from the Display.
And those commands will do any kind of wired actions but nothing
what the Command Name would suggest.

It is the same behavior for Enterprise + CADMouse assignments.

zoomer
Posts: 62
Joined: Sat Aug 20, 2016 8:53 am

Re: Vectorworks Commands and Tools Icons

Post by zoomer » Sat Dec 08, 2018 7:49 am

BTW

Latest Windows 10 1809
Latest 3D Driver
Latest VW 2019 SP2

UtaSH
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3292
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 10:34 am
Location: Munich, Germany
Contact:

Re: Vectorworks Commands and Tools Icons

Post by UtaSH » Mon Dec 10, 2018 3:46 am

Hi zoomer,

I suggest you contact our Technical Support Team. They can gather the needed information like log file and screenshots.

zoomer
Posts: 62
Joined: Sat Aug 20, 2016 8:53 am

Re: Vectorworks Commands and Tools Icons

Post by zoomer » Tue Dec 11, 2018 11:26 am

I was able to solve it by myself.

In 3DConnexion Program Folder there was a Vectorworks.xml and
Vectorworks2018.xml
I have installed VVW 2019 only, which seems to pick the Vectorworks.xml
only and that somehow doesn't look to be compatible here.
(I had only about 12 instead of around 50 Commands available from the
Vectorworks Dropdown in my driver settings and the text disappeared
immediately after assignment)

So I duplicated the VW 2018 XML to a VW 2019 XML and edited everything
2018 to 2019.
I deleted the Vectorworks.xml from my User Settings and restarted.
Now I got a Vectorworks2019.xml for my User Settings and the about 50
Commands are back.

They work for Enterprise and CAD Mouse now and they won't disappear from
Settings Dialog and Display immediately after assignment anymore.

I just miss any Icons in Driver Settings and on Display.
But from my current knowledge, it may be possible that VW does not even
offer any.
(Bricscad, as the only of my Apps, does here for me)

mattsaxon
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2018 9:51 am

Re: Vectorworks Commands and Tools Icons

Post by mattsaxon » Mon Dec 17, 2018 9:57 am

Hi Zoomer

I have literally just posted on the VW forums looking for an answer to this, I so help you can help me. I am having the same problem that when I try to configure my Space Pilot Pro in VW 2019 initially the list of tools weren't available. The when I pressed restore defaults they were but if I choose a tool from the list - like Switch Navigations it shows and then disappears immediately after assignment. I have tried to follow your solution but cannot find a Vectorworks .xml file in any of the 3d Connexion folders in Program folder or x86 program folder. Do you have any suggestions?


Thanks Matt

zoomer
Posts: 62
Joined: Sat Aug 20, 2016 8:53 am

Re: Vectorworks Commands and Tools Icons

Post by zoomer » Sat Dec 22, 2018 5:04 am

Some are also hidden in user roaming or local.
I think you have to show hidden and system files to access them ....

Post Reply