3Dsmax mcloth not working

Questions and answers about 3Dconnexion devices on Windows.

Moderator: Moderators

dexyd
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2016 7:53 am

3Dsmax mcloth not working

Post by dexyd » Mon Nov 21, 2016 7:57 am

Hi, so mu mcloth function in 3Dsmax wasn't working any more.
Tried a gazillion things with no efect. But after un-installing de 3Dconnexion drivers, mcloth worked again.
any ideas?

UtaSH
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3313
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 10:34 am
Location: Munich, Germany
Contact:

Re: 3Dsmax mcloth not working

Post by UtaSH » Wed Nov 30, 2016 3:24 am

Hi dexyd,

can you provide a detailed step-by-step description how to use the mcloth function in 3dsmax? That would help us to reproduce the issue.

Thanks,

geoffneck
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Dec 22, 2016 5:44 am

Re: 3Dsmax mcloth not working

Post by geoffneck » Thu Dec 22, 2016 5:49 am

I have exactly the same problem using 3DS Max 2017 (also wasn't working on 2015). Just uninstalled 3DConnexion drivers and it works.

In answer to your previous, open max, create a sphere above the ground plane, open the Mass FX toolbar, then, with the sphere selected, press the add cloth modifier (T-SHIRT). Then hit PLAY in the MASS FX toolbar. the sphere should drop and crumple into a mess. Before uninstalling, the sphere would not do anything!

Need a fix for this as I use my Connexion mouse for Solidworks!

UtaSH
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3313
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 10:34 am
Location: Munich, Germany
Contact:

Re: 3Dsmax mcloth not working

Post by UtaSH » Fri Dec 23, 2016 4:23 am

Hi geoffneck,

thanks for your help to reproduce the issue. I was able to reproduce the situation. I have created a bug for our development to fix this. Our internal bug number is #7335. I will post here is I have news about this. In the meantime please bear with us for a while. Thanks.

geoffneck
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Dec 22, 2016 5:44 am

Re: 3Dsmax mcloth not working

Post by geoffneck » Tue Jan 10, 2017 8:12 am

Thanks. Good to know this is being looked at.

geoffneck
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Dec 22, 2016 5:44 am

Re: 3Dsmax mcloth not working

Post by geoffneck » Mon Mar 06, 2017 8:55 am

Can we have an update for this technical issue please?

UtaSH
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3313
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 10:34 am
Location: Munich, Germany
Contact:

Re: 3Dsmax mcloth not working

Post by UtaSH » Tue Mar 28, 2017 7:26 am

Hi all,

our development has created a fix for this issue. The new plugin isn't published yet, but if you are interested to test the beta version of the plugin let me know. I will then contact you with more details.

Expohouse
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Mar 29, 2017 7:51 am

Re: 3Dsmax mcloth not working

Post by Expohouse » Wed Mar 29, 2017 7:56 am

I'm interested to test the beta version.

UtaSH
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3313
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 10:34 am
Location: Munich, Germany
Contact:

Re: 3Dsmax mcloth not working

Post by UtaSH » Thu Mar 30, 2017 7:20 am

Expohouse wrote:I'm interested to test the beta version.
I sent you an email.

jsbenson
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Apr 04, 2017 12:52 pm

Re: 3Dsmax mcloth not working

Post by jsbenson » Tue Apr 04, 2017 12:54 pm

Having the same issue.

Could you forward the beta to me as well?

I appreciate it

jsbenson
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Apr 04, 2017 12:52 pm

Re: 3Dsmax mcloth not working

Post by jsbenson » Wed Apr 05, 2017 10:44 am

jsbenson wrote:Having the same issue.

Could you forward the beta to me as well?

I appreciate it

I'm kind of stuck until I can get the beta driver. Can you send it via email or provide a link, please?

Thanks :)

UtaSH
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3313
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 10:34 am
Location: Munich, Germany
Contact:

Re: 3Dsmax mcloth not working

Post by UtaSH » Thu Apr 06, 2017 6:15 am

Email sent.

jsbenson
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Apr 04, 2017 12:52 pm

Re: 3Dsmax mcloth not working

Post by jsbenson » Thu Apr 06, 2017 10:52 am

UtaSH wrote:Email sent.

Awesome!

Thank you

jsbenson
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Apr 04, 2017 12:52 pm

Re: 3Dsmax mcloth not working

Post by jsbenson » Thu Apr 06, 2017 10:56 am

UtaSH wrote:Email sent.

Works perfectly!

I'll let you know if I run into any bugs.

zakos
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun May 28, 2017 8:43 am

Re: 3Dsmax mcloth not working

Post by zakos » Sun May 28, 2017 8:46 am

Hello,
same issue
Max 2017 SP3
3DxWare64_v10-4-10_r2558

coul you send me the beta fix ?

Thx

ZaK

Post Reply