Altium 19 Spacemouse wireless

Post questions, comments and feedback to our 3Dconnexion Windows Development Team.

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
balint2.feher
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Aug 05, 2019 2:27 am

Altium 19 Spacemouse wireless

Post by balint2.feher » Fri Dec 06, 2019 1:06 am

Hello guys!

I have a spacemouse wireless, and I would like to use it with Altium Designer 19 for 3D navigation. I have been using a cadmouse wireless for a while. I duplicated the default Altium config file in the program files folder. I have a file for schematic editor, and another one for PCB editor. I use <WindowCaption SubStringLocation="AnyWhere">PcbDoc</WindowCaption> (and schdoc) filter for them. This works perfectly for cadmouse wireless. 3DxWare recognises both profiles well, and I configured the spacemouse for Altium, but when I try to use wireless cadmouse, nothing happens in Altium (3D PCB mode). Cadmouse works well in freeCad for example, so the driver, 3DxWare seems to be correct.

Any idea what the issue is?

Win10
3DxWare 10.6.3
3DxWinCore 17.6.3.16588
Altium Designer 19.1.5 (tried with Altium 17, same issue)

jwick
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2585
Joined: Wed Dec 20, 2006 2:25 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: Altium 19 Spacemouse wireless

Post by jwick » Fri Dec 06, 2019 1:20 am

That's very impressive that you created those extra cfg files w/o instructions.

There are a few things to check.

1) Hover over the 3Dx systray icon when in the various modes to see if it is really using the correct file. The log file will also list what it is doing.
2) There have been changes between the last few Altium releases that required a new cfg. You may have to delete your user cfgs (in %appdata%) to pick up the new cfgs.
3) The application may not use the 3D mouse data in all its modes (especially 2D modes). If it doesn't, sending it will do nothing. You'd have to contact them to find out. You might have to resort to some 2D mouse emulation.

balint2.feher
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Aug 05, 2019 2:27 am

Re: Altium 19 Spacemouse wireless

Post by balint2.feher » Wed Dec 18, 2019 7:31 am

Hello jwick,

Thank you for your fast reply. We tried the spacemouse with a different computer with the same version of Altium and 3DxWare and it worked. Something is wrong with my modified config files, so I copied the working ones to my computer. Now I don't have different profiles for schematic and PCB mode for Altium. I did not try to modify it again, because I had the spacemouse for only a week. If my employer will buy a spacemouse for me, I will try to make config file modifications again, and post the result here.

Thanks for help.

Post Reply